ODWS logoThe Open Door Web Site

The Animal Kingdom

The animal kingdom can be divided into many phyla. There are eight phyla shown: jellyfish, flat worms, round worms, ringed worms, starfish, molluscs, arthropods and the chordate phylum. All but the last phylum, are referred to as invertebrates because they have no skeleton. The last one, the chordate phylum, is made up of animals which have a skeleton. Such animals are called vertebrates.

It is possible to divide a phylum into smaller groups. The arthropod phylum can be divided into groups such as crustaceans and insects. The chordate phylum can be divided up into groups such as fish, reptiles, and mammals

The of the links below opens a new window.



The Arthropods

A myriapod © Shirley Burchill

A spider  © Shirley Burchill

Great Diving Beetle  © Shirley Burchill

Hermit Crab  © Shirley Burchill

Privacy Policy

Copyright Information

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Pages

Donating to the ODWS

Advertising on the ODWS

Biology Homepage

Biology Chapters Index

> Topic Chapters

Facts and Figures

Laboratory Work

Questions and Quizzes

Listings, Recognitions and Awards

© The Open Door Team
Any questions or problems regarding this site should be addressed to the webmaster

© Paul Billiet, Shirley Burchill, Alan Damon and Deborah James 2016

Hosted By
Web Hosting by HostCentric